Little endian and big-endian

So I have started developing using Unity. This mean that I am now programming in c# as opposed to Java. There is not that many differences String is string (small s) and the collection classes are called something else.

Today I had to reimplement our protocol parser in C# and it was mostely copy/paste and looking up the appropiate functions. The protocol is rather advanced and has a magic keyword in the beginning for a simple security check. So I hooked the Unity (C#) up with our Java backend and immidiatly got an server error “magic key missing”. Ok my first thought was that i messed up my byte order and sent the bytestream into the local C# protocol parse in order to debug.

I got no errors….

I wrote out the key on the server side and got some apparently random number, but if I changed what the client wrote the new “random” key. Lucky a co-worked came by and suggested Endian…

And yes C# order is in small endian and the java side expects the bytes in big endian order (network order). This is why i’ll never be out of the job…

20110628-070206.jpg

Good discussion about the topic
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/92287/sending-a-4-byte-message-header-from-c-client-to-a-java-server

Leave a Reply

